To Ten (10) Quotes By Fela Anikulapo Kuti

fela

Today makes it 19 years since the death of one of the greatest men ever to come out of Africa, Fela Anikulapo Kuti. Today, the whole world is “facebooking” and tweeting about Fela again. Fela deserves the attention. He was a giant. At Lantern Books, Fela Anikulapo Kuti is one of the African heroes whose biographies have been made available for children and young readers with a love for history. See the books here.

hero2.png

hero.png

To celebrate Fela Kuti and refresh our memories again about this great African, we bring to you some of his popular quotes:

  1. “To be spiritual is not by praying and going to church. Spiritualism is the understanding of the universe so that it can be a better place to live in.”
  2. “With my music, I create change…I am using my music as a weapon.”
  3. “I want peace. Happiness. Not only for myself. For everybody.”
  4. “Everything I did wrongly is an experience…to be honest and truthful in all endeavours is an experience, not regret.”
  5. “My people are scared of the air around them; they always have an excuse not to fight for freedom.”
  6. “The secret of life is to have no fear.”
  7. “I don’t tell lies about anybody. That’s why I win all my wars.”
  8. “Music is a weapon of the future / music is the weapon of the progressives / music is the weapon of the givers of life”
  9. “I refuse to live my life in fear…”
  10. “If it is not fit to live in, then our job is to make it fit.”
Leave a Reply

